Mashed Potatoes and Carrots

My mom often made mashed carrots when I was a kid, this recipe by Shanti Ellis brings a fun variant to them…

Mashed Potatoes and Carrots

I came up with this last night when looking through the fridge for an after-dinner snack.  I saw some things that needed to get used up soon and made this.  (I’ll submit a better picture the next time I make it, which will be soon!)

1 medium russet potato
3 medium (or 2 large) carrots
margarine (if you want a vegan version) or butter
prepared horseradish
green onion
pepper

Cube the potato.  I left the skin on for more of a rustic element, but you can peel it if you don’t like the skin.

Cut the carrots into about 1 and a half or 2 inch segments.  I usually don’t peel these either.

Boil until very soft.  About 15 to 20 minutes.

Drain and return to the pot, which should still be hot.  Add butter or margarine in small amounts as you are mashing until you get the desired creaminess.  Also add the prepared horseradish.  Make sure you use the jarred horseradish that’s not the beet colored one since I suspect that will make the color look really off.

Once your preferred texture is reached, top with sliced green onion and a small amount of black pepper.

Done!  : )

Leave a Reply

